South Grafton High School

Excellence and Innovation

Telephone02 6642 1466

Learning at our school

Find out more about what your child will learn at our school.

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for the curriculum, Kindergarten to Year 12, for all NSW schools.

For the high school years, NESA develops syllabuses for all subjects in 8 key learning areas:

  • creative arts
  • English
  • human society and its environment (HSIE)
  • languages
  • mathematics
  • personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE)
  • science
  • technological and applied studies (TAS).

NSW schools also offer special religious education and special education in ethics via approved providers, where available.

Like all NSW schools, we have developed teaching and learning programs to suit our local context and the needs of our students.

To learn more about the curriculum in NSW, visit:

Stages of learning

There are 6 stages of learning from Kindergarten to Year 12. High school covers Stages 4 to 6.

  • Stage 4 includes Years 7 and 8.
  • Stage 5 includes Years 9 and 10.
  • Stage 6 includes Years 11 and 12.

Kitchen Garden

In 2020 the school was awarded a grant to establish a Sustainable Kitchen Garden in the School.

The garden is situated adjacent to the schools Agriculture plot and contains furit and vegetable growing area, native bees and water capturing features. Through the use of WaterUps Wicking Beds, the garden uses up to 80% less water than a traditional garden bed. The capturing of rainwater into a 4000L water tank allows the gardens and surrounds to save tens of thousands of litres of water each year.

The garden is entirely built and managed by students, teachging them valuabel horticulture, bee keeping and sustainable living skills.

In the future it is planned that the garden will be open to the public, selling fresh produce to our local community.